Fiction  > Fantasy  > Other by A to Z  > P - Z

The Runaway Princess s/c


The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c The Runaway Princess s/c

The Runaway Princess s/c back

Johan Troianowski

Price: 
12.99

Page 45 Review by Stephen

Phenomenal!

The insides glow like multi-coloured stones in the dark. It's all bit B. Mure in places, albeit not quite so liquid, translucent.

Plus, it's beautifully written, full of childlike wonder, glee, worry, and the occasional pree-teen strop from one of the older boys! Another falls in love with a Mermaid (snapping him out of it is exquisite schoolyard psychology), then a tentacular Kraken develops a quick crush on HIM.

The princess is as insatiably inquisitive and undauntedly resourceful as Luke Pearson's HILDA and as open to experience as Andi Watson's KERRY (AND THE KNIGHT OF THE FOREST).

Plus, she will need a little help from YOU! Oh, yes, you'll need to shake the book to fell trees, bellow "PAUL!" at the top of your voice, and navigate lilly leaves as colour-coded stepping stones across a pond!

Many, many thanks to whichever family showed me the light under a very unpromising cover in a catalogue. Covers, eh? We do judge a book by them WHEN PUBLISHERS PUT NO INTERIOR ART ONLINE.

This publisher writes:
"This princess can't resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren't quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn! Princesses don't run away to have their own adventures. Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives. Not this princess! Adventures await when Robin (bored of princess-ing all the time) embarks on the best adventure of her life-meeting friends along the way as she travels through the magical landscape of her country. But her parents aren't so pleased-and they're coming to find her and bring her back to the castle, no matter how she feels about it!"

spacer