Fiction  > Contemporary  > Other by A to Z  > D - L

Finding My Voice s/c

Finding My Voice s/c back

Aoife Dooley

Price: 
8.99

Page 45 Review by Publisher Blurb

A two-colour graphic novel about speaking-up and standing out when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier How do you find your voice when everyone around you is telling you to be quiet? Frankie is different, and so is her best-friend, Sam. So when they both start secondary school, it's tough.

Particularly when there are so many rules to follow, like: No talking in class! Be quiet in the hallways! Silence for assembly! Frankie doesn't know how she'll manage, because constantly talking is how she copes. So when she gets the chance to compete in a Battle of the Bands contest, Frankie couldn't be more excited. Except, to have a band, you need to have band members.

And to have band members, you need to be good at making friends... Can Frankie learn to find her voice and stand out? A unique perspective on Autism, told with humour and heart. Brought to life with glorious colour artwork in a distinctive blue and orange palette.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier. Praise for FRANKIE'S WORLD: "I loved Frankie's story and could really identify with her character. This is such an amazing graphic novel that represents neurodiversity really realistically." Libby Scott "Aoife Dooley captures Frankie's autistic experience with great care, humour and love." Lizzie Huxley-Jones "A fun and relatable read about awkwardness, self-acceptance, family and friendship." Sarah McIntyre "Unique and often funny ...

I cheered Frankie on through her journey." Sue Cheung "Frankie's World is funny, fresh and honest and I wish it had be around to read when I was little." Holly Smale "Offers an amusing and relatable story that celebrates neurodiversity through its sensitive exploration of Frankie's alienation from her peers" IRISH TIMES "A wonderfully charming, honest and funny look at growing up... one of my favourite books of the year" IRISH EXAMINER "Warm, funny and original" GUARDIAN "A great story about growing up and learning who you are" BOOKTRUST

spacer